Encounters Youth Experience (EYE) Youth Jury

In addition to the long-standing and successful Backsberg Encounters Audience Awards for the best South African and International documentaries, the Festival in partnership with Ster Kinekor, is delighted to host the 3rd Youth Jury!  Three Jurors will adjudicate and present the EYE Award and cash prizes for the best South African short (less than 20 minutes).

Micaelin Bock

Micaelin Bock (21) is a student filmmaker at City Varsity. She is currently working on her own short film as a writer and director. Her passions lie in honest and authentic storytelling with a desire to bring more African stories to our screens. 

Abongwe L. Booi

Abongwe L. Booi (21) is a visual creator in his final year at UCT. His love for film and photography began at an early age and since then the passion and drive has not relented. His unwavering passion for cinematography and directing propel him to the consistent advancement of his craft.

Joshua Maggott

Joshua Maggott (22), born and raised in Cape Town, South Africa is currently a second-year student studying towards a Diploma in Film and Production at CityVarsity. After having worked 3 years as a private investigator, he has developed a need to seek the truth and best represent and show this within the medium of film.